Family!

Yesterday…

the campers had a blast on the first day of Marine Camp. All groups stayed on site learning about different Marine topics. The Plankton Pioneers learned about marine mammals and the Inland Seas Explorers caught some anchovies in the net. This is also the first and only week this summer that we have Ocean Naturalists. This is a camp that consists of 4th and 5th graders who have attended an Ocean Explorers or Inland Seas Explorers camp in the past.

This week…

is extremely exciting for me. Let me introduce myself a little more. My name is Hayley and I have been working with the Marine Science Institute for 6 years. I started as an instructor, and then I was Camp Coordinator for two years, now I am Education Coordinator. I love this place and I share my love of the marine life and MSI with my family.

This week I have some of my nieces and nephews here at camp. Let’s start with the veteran, Kayla, my niece who has been coming to camp for 3 years. She started as a Plankton Pioneer, was an Ocean Explorer and is now an Inland Seas Explorer. She loves this camp and has been waiting all year to come back again this summer. During the school year, she attended the Girl Scout 100 year anniversary where MSI had a booth. Not only did she get to see Michelle, her Marine Camp instructor, she taught a few of her fellow scouts how to identify and touch fish.

Kayla 2010
Plankton Pioneers

Kayla 2011
Ocean Explorers

Kayla 2012
Inland Seas Explorers

Her brother Cole came to camp for the first time last year where he was a Plankton Pioneer. This year he again is a Plankton Pioneer and loves the songs that they sing in the camp. Last night we sang “Mother Gooney Bird” together before he went to bed.

Cole 2011
Plankton Pioneers

Cole 2012
Plankton Pioneers

Zach and Emmie, my other niece and nephew, just moved back from Oklahoma and this is their first year at Marine Camp. Zach loved playing sharks and minnows and wore an awesome mohawk on the first day of camp which all the staff loved. Zach an Inland Seas Explorer with Kayla and was very excited to attend Aquarium of the Bay today. Emmie was a little shy on her first day but is slowly breaking out of her shell. She enjoyed the crafts and coloring pictures.

Emmie 2012
Plankton Pioneers

Kayla and Zach 2012
Inland Seas Explores

Last night my husband Matt and I had all four kids stay at our place. After camp we drove all the way back to Concord. Did I mention that I love MSI so much that I live in Concord and drive through that crazy commute every day! All of my little kidlets, this is what I call my nieces and nephews, slept most of the way home. Once we arrived we all put on our swimsuits and played in the pool for about an hour. Afterwards, we made our very own pizzas. Matt and I thought that it would be difficult to tell their pizzas apart, but nope! Each kidlet had their own style of making pizza. After dinner we made cookies and watched “The Sandlot” until falling asleep. We have two kittens (Fred and George, named after the Weasley Twins because of how mischievous they are), who are brothers that get a little hyper and like to play in the middle of the night. The kidlets feet underneath the blankets look like toys to them! The kittens decided to pounce and play. Eventually they laid down in the bedroom until the morning when they kept running over the kids. The kidlets were so tired that it didn’t even bother them.

Emmie, Zach, Cole, Kayla

Morning came and waking up was a little hard but eventually they woke and made it to camp for another day.

I love talking about these kidlets and I am sure many of you also have lots of great stories about Marine Camp. We would love to hear these stories. Either comment on this Blog or Facebook, or e-mail me at Hayley@sfbaymsi.org. I look forward to sharing your stories.

Tomorrow

Plankton Pioneers are going on the R/V Robert G. Brownlee.

Ocean Explorers are heading across the Bay to explore the Hayward Shoreline.

Ocean Naturalists get to have fun at the Farallones Marine Sanctuary in San Francisco.

Don’t forget to Bring

Backpack

Reusable Water Bottle

Trash Free Lunch

Sunscreen

A Hat

Light Jacket or Sweatshirt

Please make sure that your camper wears clothes and shoes that can get dirty!

On Field Trip days and Discovery Voyage day campers must wear close-toed shoes that can get wet and dirty and their Camp T-shirt.

Check in tomorrow to see what your campers are up to and for some fun stories and quotes.

Leave a Reply

