Ocean Lab Inland Voyage!

In Ocean Lab Inland Voyage, students discover the amazing ecosystem of the Rocky Pacific Coast. Using live animals, keys, and the scientific method, students focus on five different groups of tidepool invertebrates and fish, their interrelationships, and their ecology. A closing activity relates human impact issues and solutions for this habitat to the students’ own local aquatic environment.

Here are the 5 different groups of organisms that the students will be able to explore.

PHYLUM ARTHROPODA

Arthropods are organisms that have jointed appendages, exoskeletons and soft bodies. Arthropods consist of arachnids, centipedes, crustaceans, insects and millipedes.

PHYLUM CHORDATA

Chordates are organisms that have a nerve cord present during some part of development, as well as an endoskeleton (most of the time) and bilateral symmetry.

PHYLUM CNIDARIA

Cnidarians are organisims with radial symmetry that are named for their stinging cells, known as nematocysts. Cnidarians consist of jellies, anemones, corals, hydras and Portuguese Man-of-Wars.

PHYLUM ECHINODERMATA

Echinoderms are radial symmetrical organisms named for their spiny skin. They possess a water vascular system. Echinoderms consist of sea stars, sand dollars, sea urchins, and sea cucumbers.

PHYLUM MOLLUSCA

Mollusks are soft bodied organisms that create their own hard shell (some internal, most external). Mollusks consist of snails, slugs, squids, octopi, and bivalves.

Phylum Word Search

WORDS:

CHORDATA    MOLLUSCA    ECHINODERMATA    CNIDARIA    ARTHROPODA    PORIFERA    PHYLUM    FLOUNDER     SQUID     URCHIN   ANEMONE    LOBSTER   SPONGE

C

C

I

R

P

O

D

A

U

R

H

O

M

I

S

D

I

N

I

R

T

M

A

A

R

U

D

E

O

O

C

C

I

U

A

I

A

I

I

D

T

P

T

C

R

M

I

U

U

R

Q

C

I

N

O

T

E

M

U

H

Y

U

O

U

O

N

R

T

M

E

L

A

Y

R

O

O

D

P

Y

H

A

S

I

M

C

A

D

R

O

T

A

N

H

S

N

T

S

A

M

E

R

B

L

F

G

U

M

R

P

S

P

O

N

G

E

O

C

D

N

M

S

R

A

M

L

L

F

O

O

B

P

O

L

N

C

M

R

E

N

N

F

T

R

S

P

E

M

O

L

O

C

R

R

D

H

H

R

O

C

U

S

A

R

C

M

I

O

R

A

L

A

R

E

P

I

R

L

H

A

O

T

P

L

R

D

L

N

E

O

A

U

R

E

D

N

U

O

L

F

I

E

A

C

H

A

R

H

N

N

L

S

S

O

H

O

R

Q

L

Q

D

P

I

R

E

T

U

C

H

P

H

A

A

C

N

D

P

A

S

C

U

P

P

O

H

I

U

U

D

U

U

L

I

P

A

E

A

N

I

M

I

A

L

Q

O

R

F

E

R

R

E

A

R

T

H

R

O

P

O

D

A

E

C

N

U

U

M

P

D

C

A

A

A

N

E

M

O

N

E

E

D

R

R

Y

I

O

U

E

E

O

H

T

D

F

U

A

D

O

S

L

F

C

R

U

O

N

O

C

Y

A

O

I

I

R

L

T

A

P

A

P

M

E

N

F

A

R

A

T

O

A

C

R

N

M

G

A

R

N

U

N

I

T

I

E

N

D

P

C

O

F

O

T

C

U

N

N

S

A

P

N

O

U

N

O

M

U

L

Y

H

P

N

C

D

L

A

M

R

N

D

E

P

Ocean Lab programs can be adapted to different grade levels to cover basic concepts or more advanced content. Although designed to stand alone, the program is also an excellent supplement to a field study program such as the Discovery Voyage or Tidepool Expedition.

Check out MSI School Program Page, http://sfbaymsi.org/school.html, to learn about a variety of programs, how to get grants, classroom activities and more.

Leave a Reply

