Volunteering Takes the Helm , a BayLines Original Article

This summer, I was an intern at the Marine Science Institute. During my 12-week internship I had two primary roles: to assist with Marine Camp to make sure that it ran smoothly, and to look at how MSI markets itself using various social media platforms. My journey at MSI did not begin with this internship, however. When I was a sophomore in high school, I came to MSI as a summer camp volunteer and ever since then I have been hooked.  After graduating from high school, I became a camp counselor and worked summer camp every summer I was in college.

When I found out that I needed to complete an internship to earn my college degree, I immediately thought of MSI. Through volunteering and working at MSI the past eight summers, I have come to love both marine science and the message that the organization promotes.

During my internship, I created daily schedules for the Marine Camp staff detailing which activities they were teaching on any given day, how long they would spend at each activity, and where each activity was located. In addition to planning and making schedules, I acted as a go-to person for camp staff. I aimed to be a person that they felt comfortable coming to if they needed anything or had any questions, not only regarding summer camp, but also any general questions that came up.

I also spent the summer looking at how MSI markets itself and its programs on social media. From my research, I found that MSI is not posting consistently on Instagram and Twitter. In order to remedy this problem I suggested that MSI should try to consistently post on all social media platforms. I also suggested that staff find a distinct purpose for Instagram by promoting hashtags to people who are participating in their programs.

All in all, I learned a lot from my internship this summer. I am incredibly grateful to have been given this opportunity. Though my internship is finished I still hope to stay in touch with everyone at MSI; they are great people who work incredibly hard to promote a positive message about the San Francisco Bay.

Marine Science Institute would like to thank Brooke for submitting this article and for all her hard work and dedication this summer. 

Volunteer and internship opportunities are available year round.
Please visit our webpage at www.sfbaymsi.org to find your next volunteer position! 

ribbon-waves-design-vector-01-free

This article was featured in our BayLines Autumn Edition 2015.

Marine Science Institute is a tax-exempt 501(c)(3) not for profit organization
©2015. All Rights Reserved

Leave a Reply

